Welcome to Historic Tenleytown!
D.C.'s second oldest village, was
originally part of a sizable tract
of land called "Friendship,"
named in recognition of the amicable
relationship between the two grantees.
The Frederick Road (today's Belt Road)
had long been a north/south route
and River Road was laid out in the
1780's. A 1791 survey of River Road
shows Tennally's Tavern at the intersection
of River Road and what is today Wisconsin
Avenue. The village of Tenleytown
grew - very slowly - around the intersection.
The Civil War brought
troops and the construction of Fort
Reno. At war's end Tenleytown reverted
to a rural village. The platting of
Reno City in 1869 and subsequent home
building there by both whites and
freed slaves, as well as an influx
of German immigrants responding to
advertisements for cheap land, began
the transition to a more populous
community. Fort Reno was demolished
and the reservoir was built on its
site. Electric streetcars arrived
in 1890 providing easier access to
downtown, but it was only in the second
and third decades of the 20th century
that residential development led to
the densely populated area we experience