4528 Fessenden Street, NW Washington, D. C.
- Year Built: 1902-04
- Architect: E. Woltz
- Built By: J.D. Croissant
The Stone House, the other house in AU Park designed by E. Woltz, is unique.
Built 1902-4, it is the only one of the early houses built of stone, from the foundation up.
For a few years in the mid-1960s, the house was occupied by Hurst Anderson, president of American University from 1952-1968.
Anderson was named for Bishop John Fletcher Hurst, whose vision and perseverance led to the establishment of the university.
This house has recently been updated by new owners who, like the owners 4520 River Road, have taken care to preserve the house’s historic character.